2017 Award Winners

Susan W. Fox
Susan W. Fox

Susan W. Fox as has been selected as the 2017 recipient of the Section’s highest honor, the James C. Adkins Award. This annual award recognizes a member of The Florida Bar who has made exemplary contributions in the field of appellate practice. A board-certified appellate specialist, Ms. Fox is a charter member of the Section and has performed many leadership roles over the years, including serving as Chair of the Section and the Appellate Court Rules Committee. Through her countless contributions to the profession, her mentorship of young attorneys, and her exemplary record of pro bono service to her community, Ms. Fox’s forty years of appellate practice have left a lasting impression, and will continue to shape appellate practice in Florida for years to come.

Pam Masters
Pamela R. Masters

Pamela R. Masters has been selected as the 2017 recipient of the Section’s Pro-Bono Award. This annual award recognizes exemplary pro bono service in appellate practice. As Clerk for the Fifth District Court of Appeal, Ms. Masters led the effort in coordinating and fostering pro bono service by appellate practitioners and mediators throughout her district. Since leaving the Clerk’s office, she has continued her advocacy for pro bono clients in private practice. She volunteers every week with Community Legal Services, and for the Talking Books Library of the Florida Division of Blind Services, recording books for the visually handicapped. Ms. Masters’ commitment to the ideals and practice of pro-bono service set an example for all of Florida’s lawyers.